September 11

Another day at the office. It is a cold Tuesday morning coming into the same building, going to the elevator, and ask the nice man who’s always  in a rush to get to his floor. Press 77 please? Finally I get out of the crowded elevator and go all the way across the room to my small and quite suffocating cubical. All I can hear is my coworkers talking about what they are doing this week or what they are planning to do this weekend. I can smell the coffee being brewed a few cubicles down. Yup! It was a normal day at work and nothing has seemed to change.

Then Brad comes up to me to talk about his crazy mother; pestering him about his bills and him finding a wife. “I don’t know why she’s always saying, find a nice wholesome girl. I’m not 5 years old and I know God will find me someone. You know one of these days I will- CRASH!!!!!! What in the world? What was that? I couldn’t hear a thing. What’s going on? Screaming, moaning, people in fear. Brad helps me up, “are you ok, Debra?” Yeah, what in the world just happened? A PLANE JUST HIT OUR BUILDING BELOW US!! someone shouted from across the room. There were people panicking all over the office. How are we going to get out, I need to call my family. why would a plane hit the tower? So many questions, not many answers. Brad grabs my hand, “Deb Let’s go!”

Another scream, “ANOTHER PLANE JUST CRASHED INTO THE OTHER TOWER!” We all ran towards the window, to see that the other building was indeed hit. Fire and smoke flowed out of the building like a rushing waterfall. All I could do was put my hand up to me mouth in shock. Why is this happening? What have we done to deserve this? “Brad what are you doing, this is no time to go to your desk and start work, cant you see we are kind of in the middle of a crisis!” He turned to me with his light blue ocean eyes full of fear. “I..I… I have to call my mother…I have to tell her something.” I knew as just like others, they were making phone calls to their families and I should to. As I walked towards my cubical, people around me are holding each other and crying. Some where kneeling down by their desks praying to God to save them. It seems like it was all just a dream, or at least I wanted it to be. I went to my desk and picked up the phone. I called my apartment to see if anyone was home, but like always no one was there. I should leave a message I thought to myself. When I heard the beep I started to speak but nothing came out. Then I said ” Hey sis, its me Deb. Um, I dont know if your still  asleep or at work but um I love you and I hope to see you soon.” Brad came to my desk smiling hoping that get the nasty feeling I had in my stomach. Then out of no where the floor started to drop. I was so scared, I screamed so loud and my thoughts were all shouting as well . “GOD PLEASE SAVE ME, I KNOW I HAVENT BEEN THE GREATEST CHRISTIAN I CAN BE, PLEASE SAVE ME!!!. People all aournd me were screaming and we knew this was the end. OH GOD PLEASE DON’T TELL ME THIS IS HOW IT ENDS!!!!

I wake up on a warm bed with a blanket. Was it just a dream after all. where am I? “Debra? Debra Smith? Can you hear me? Jas is that you? Yes sis! how are you feeling? I felt like I was hit by a train. I said trying to sit up. You could only be so lucky if it was a train. I’m surprised you made it out alive. who else jas? You are one of the few to survive. How many sis? You should just be hap- HOW MANY JASMINE?! she looked down and a single tear ran down her face. 20 only survived out of both towers.
Brad? What about Brad?  She shook her head. I couldnt help it, I dove my head into my hands and sobbed. I’m sorry Deb, he was holding you  when they found you. he must of grabbed you as you guys fell 8 stories. I’m so sorry Deb. She came in for a hug and at first I pushed but she grabbed me. I couldnt help but melt into her arms. ” You should be happy he cared and that’s why he held you, and he’s in a better place.” As hurt as I was and upset I knew she had a point. When it was dark and my sister fast asleep. All I could do was whisper in the darkness of my hospital room underneath the moonlight was ” Thank you God for saving me and saving Brad.

 

(I wrote this my senior year for a speech contest. I dont remember if it made people cry or not. It was just an idea since My aunt died in 9/11. hope you enjoy)

Leave a Reply

